HAYING original oil painting by Terrill Welch

Recently, I have been photographing the haying process at one of our local farms. It brought back many memories from when I was still living at home in farming country. One of the images I captured really resonated with me and so I pulled out a canvas and set to work. The painting pretty much painted itself so I am going to give you just the end result this time.

A 14 x 18 inch oil on canvas  – available for purchase HERE

I was particularly pleased with how my star in the painting came together – the tractor! Here is a close look so you can see that it is just blobs of paint giving you a suggestion of a person on the tractor pulling a hay rake.

Haying time signifies summer in most farming areas in North America. This impressionist style painting holds the desire for coolness in the deep shade of the big tree yet directs our gaze to the heat in the bright sunlight in the fields.

 

SPROUT:  What summer activity sets your creativity to the sundial?

 

© 2012 Terrill Welch, All rights reserved.

Liberal usage granted with written permission. See “About” for details.

Purchase photography at http://www.redbubble.com/people/terrillwelch

Creative Potager – where imagination rules. Be inspired.

From Mayne Island, British Columbia, Canada

Terrill Welch online Gallery at http://terrillwelchartist.com

 

6 thoughts on “HAYING original oil painting by Terrill Welch

  1. Terrill – this is just wonderful. I can’t put my finger on exactly why, but something about this painting reminds me of sights we saw when traveling through Minnesota.

    SPROUT: What summer activity sets your creativity to the sundial?

    Watermelon seed spitting contests!

    • That would be a good fit I think Laurie. I am currently reading a Garrison Keillor novel and spending some story time in the imaginary Lake Wobegon. Yep! Watermelon seed spitting contests would do it for me as well. Didn’t always work so well if it intercepted the back of my younger brother’s on its trajectory.

  2. Terrill,

    The casualness of this blog writing is like the casualness of the painting. Your expression of “I pulled out a canvas” and set to. Like the observer or point of view of the painting, the shade under the tree, yet expressed by the color of the field in pinks and white. Lazy summer day, someone else can do the work.
    Of course I think this is one of your most Monet style paintings, in color and form, with maybe a bit of Van Gogh, in brush stroke.

    What activity sets my creative? The farmers market and street fairs…

    • Wow! Jeff you really got in behind what was happening for me in this painting experience. Thank you so much for the feedback and you are the second person who has mentioned Van Gogh to me in relation to this painting. I think it is because it is his light and his kind of a scene – so the influence is easy to connect. I agree with you on the Monet style as well. As an impressionist style painter, it seems natural to find these famous masters lurking on my canvases now and again. I only recently started studying the actual paintings of these artists but the principles they applied to painting have been with me for years. Thank you Jeff. I think I shall treasure your response for a long while.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.