Mayne Island Summer Group Show part 2

There is nothing that says summer like July and August on the southwest coast Gulf Islands of British Columbia, and no summer is complete without the Mayne Island Trincomali Community Arts Council Summer Group Show. The show will open at “the library” on Friday July 9th 7-9 pm and the Mayne Island Reading Centre will be bursting with creative abundance for your viewing pleasure.

Last Saturday’s part 1 of this post gave us a glimpse of what to expect. Today’s post will provide a few more enticing examples…

First, is an intriguing image from photographer and artisan Barbara McIntyre with Nomadic Routes Inc. where she is creating healthy choices for people and planet (she has the most amazing handmade soaps).

New Zealand by Barbara McIntyre

Second, here are a few snippets of words submitted from one of her works in progress by author and artisan Leanne Dyck

“My need for the backpack was how we ended up in a sporting goods store talking to one of the cutest guys I’d ever meet in my life. Or, rather, how my Dad ended up talking to him as I tried not to drool.

‘Our little girl.’

Little girl honestly, Dad, that’s how you’re going to talk about me to the cutest guy in the whole universe. Our little girl – kill me, kill me now.

A red rash rose from my neck and spread over my entire face.”

A prolific writer, Leanne Dyck has published Novelty Yarn and Maynely a Mystery. I also know other great things are in the works such as Turning, Maynely Hidden and The Sweater Curse.  You can find out more at her website http://www.oknitting.com .

Third, we pause for a moment to view an image from well known (on Mayne Island anyway) fine arts and freelance photographer Toby Snelgrove

Edith Point North by Toby Snelgrove

Toby Snelgrove’s stunning collection of BC Ferry images is just completing so if you haven’t yet, please do drop by the library and take in a startling original perspective on the ships we rely on to link to the rest of the civilized world. Toby’s show is not to be missed and the photographic exhibition runs until Wednesday July 7th.

Finally, I will also be showing a series of five photographic images “Window with a View” that were featured on my post “Simplicity” back in February of this year.

window with a view by Terrill Welch

This series of five images is a lovely segue into my solo exhibit “Sea, Land and Time” that will follow the Mayne Island Summer Group Show and open on Friday, September 3rd. I will have more about that in a few weeks. In the mean time, you can browse my online storefront at http://www.redbubble.com/people/terrillwelch and see if you can pick out some of the oil paintings and photographic canvas prints that will be included.

In addition to artists, artisans and writers mentioned in blog posts part 1 and 2 for the Mayne Island Summer Group Show, there will also be Native art by Wayne Thomas, sculpture by Cedar Christie plus Tina Farmilo, Donna Williams and Bill Maylone, along with others, will bring their vibrant creativity together for a spectacular exhibit.

The Mayne Island Summer Group Show will run from July 9, 2010 to September 1, 2010 and after the opening night can be viewed during Library hours 11:00 am to 3:00 pm Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday.

If you are thinking of coming, the Mayne Island B.C. website (which also has a link to the Mayne Island Chamber of Commerce ) can help you with your planning.

Sprout Question: What is your favourite comment or review about your work?

Note: special thanks to Bill Maylone for allowing me to “borrow” parts of his text from the MayneLiner Magazine article.

And, psst! I just received the 2011 calendar for “Sea, Land and Time” and I am so happy with the images and large calendar squares – big enough to write all your important notes. And don’t be fooled when the website calendar cover says 2010 – You can set the start date for whenever you like.

westcoast winter by Terrill Welch

Cover image. View the whole calendar at http://www.redbubble.com/people/terrillwelch/calendars/5320339-8-sea-land-and-time All the images in the calendar are taken from Mayne Island.

© 2010 Terrill Welch, All rights reserved.

Liberal usage granted with written permission. See “About” for details.

Purchase photography at http://www.redbubble.com/people/terrillwelch

Creative Potager – where imagination rules. Be inspired.

From Mayne Island, British Columbia, Canada

10 thoughts on “Mayne Island Summer Group Show part 2

  1. Pingback: Mayne Island Summer Group Show part 1 « Creativepotager's Blog

  2. Terrill,

    wonderful preview/review! I wish I was close enough to be in and around all this wonderful creative energy! It would be awesome !
    I think the whole blog is a wonderful review!

    I am Love, Jeff

    • Thank you Jeff… and yes it is wonderful to find kindred spirits in our everyday living. We are out there in every community… it is just a matter of finding each other. This is not easy I think as a creative begins we tend to have as much need to be alone to create as we do in the need to be in the company of others. I was in a conversation today with an outstanding painter and her comment was “I can get together and talk about art or I can paint but I haven’t figured out how to do both… so I paint.” And I, for one, am glad that she paints.

  3. What beautiful work! It makes you proud to be a ‘Mayner’. Thank you for including my work with such fine company.
    What’s my favourite review of my work?
    Well, my friend, it would have to be your review of Maynely A Mystery.
    Though we barely knew each other when you wrote it you got the essence so well — I was amazed.
    Thank you for your continued support.

  4. Terrill – I love all of the juicy links in the post. Gosh, I feel like it was a map leading to hidden treasure — thank you!

    Sprout Question: What is your favorite comment or review about your work?

    I think one of the highest compliments that I’ve ever received was:

    “Laurie, I admire your writing; appreciating the influence of its spiritually quiet, yet loudly resonant voice. It’s obvious that compassion is foundational in what you do.”

  5. The excitement here is palpable, and it matches any venue anywhere during this time of renewal and some scorching heat and humidity! Over here it’s the 4th of July weekend of course, and the family will be attending an outdoor barbeque at the home of a friend who lives on a specious wooded cul-de-sac home in a rural North Jersey suburb. That’s certainly the closest I’ll get to the outdoor wonderments you all have planned for the upcoming weeks in and around Mayne Island. I must say that the photos here (love that ‘window with a view’ particularly by Terrill) are stunning.

    I guess what drives a person in most instances are comments wbout what said person truly loves and hold in the highest regard.

    Have a glorious weekend in paradise!

    • Thank you Sam and I agree… comments about what a “person truly loves and hold in the highest regard” is what drives us. Happy4th of July and I hope it was the best bbq ever. We took in the Home and Garden tour here today on Mayne Island and it was a lot of fun and we saw some outstanding places.

  6. Pingback: Anthony Mann, ”I Am Love’ and ‘Wild Grass’ on Monday Morning Diary « Wonders in the Dark

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.